top of page
Writer's picturehmcgowan

Update# 2 April 9


April 9, 2002

Good Morning Everyone!

So much to celebrate this week! By now all students should have signed up for epic. Students log in through the parent portal- there is no class code as we are learning off site. This week students have already read over 45 books and have read over 950 min! Way to go everyone! Even though I have not set class assignments, keep exploring books. I can see each book every student reads, and how long each student takes to read the books. Next week I will be adding the quiz and summary features so I can assess how things are going comprehension wise.

For those students at home who do not have Internet access to the site, keep up the great reading at home! Remember that reading includes manuals, magazines, novels, comics, anything that interests you that is text based. Try keeping a log of your reading at home min, and I will add those minutes to our class records. Then we can set a goal and see how far we get!

Students are also gaining skills on Mathletics- way to go! If you picked up your student's belongings at school I placed their passwords in the Ziploc bag of their school supplies. It is on the paint chip, and on the yellow print out papers.

I am so excited; my website should be ready to go by next week. If I finish it this week I will post the link here through email. I will ask it to be added to the Learning Links section of the Nukko Lake website. I want to get it up and running as fast as I can- at this moment you won't be able to google it, as it is a free wix site- and will only be able to find it by bookmarking the link I will send out. It's main feature is the Learning Link section, and under each section you will have access to some great learning sites.

For This Week:

  • Keep reading on Epic, or at home with any books you can find


  • Keep completing math games and pick any topics you want to complete on Mathletics- don't forget to click the videos on the left of the screen that will help you with the concepts if you are stuck


  • Get outside for 30 min a day, or complete an exercise routine at home- 30 min Daily Physical Activity is part of our curriculum- anything counts!



  • Log in to typing club- I have a fun assignment for you! Typing club link is https://nukkolakedragons.typingclub.com/ students click their name and enter their passwords (1234 I believe, or their normal computer log in codes)


  • Keep up with Student CNN10, or keep up with Dr. Bonnie Henry- talk with students about the news on all levels- check for anxiety- some kids are great with the news, other's it causes too much stress


  • Board games and dice games- Math Facts 2-9 times tables focus please.

For those of you at home without Internet I have included a few units of math in with your student belongings. These units are to be done in which ever order, and they do not all have to be completed at this time. I just wanted to ensure you had a resource at your fingertips if you were isolated at home. Answer keys have been provided so a parent can mark progress. We will discuss what learning will look like next week in more detail.

I am missing everyone, and I will be creating office hours next week so we can check in a bit more formally. Keep up all the great learning everyone!

Long Weekend

Please be aware that I will not be checking new emails over the long weekend, but I will respond to any issues or concerns upon my return on Tuesday morning.

Huge Hugs,

Ms. H. McGowan

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Commenting has been turned off.
bottom of page